Austin Hill Leads Childress Dominance in 2024 Superspeedway Qualifying

TALLADEGA, Ala. – With a time of 52.723 sec (181.629 mph), Austin Hill will start on pole for the 2024 Ag-Pro 300 at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway in tomorrow’s NASCAR Xfinity Series event.

“I just made sure leaving our launch that I didn’t spin the tires, just tried getting through the gears as smooth as possible,” said Hill, winner of the first two superspeedway races of the season. “You can easily mess these laps up, so just tried to hold as smooth of a steering wheel as I could and left it to the RCR boys to give me a fast Bennett Chevrolet.”

Starting alongside will be his Richard Childress Racing teammate Jesse Love in the No. 2 WAT Chevrolet Camaro. It’s the third time the two drivers have shared the front row this year, all at superspeedway events.

“I couldn’t let him get all the poles, gotta share sometimes,” joked Hill. “I told him he should run second. I think he held up on his end of the bargain.”

Row two will consist of Parker Kligerman and Cole Custer. The fifth fastest time in the second round of qualifying belonged to Sammy Smith.

Ryan Truex, championship leader Chandler Smith, Riley Herbst, Josh Williams, and Sheldon Creed round out the top 10 starting positions.

Dash4Cash contestants will start 14th (A.J. Allmendinger), 15th (Sam Mayer), 16th (Justin Allgaier) and 25th (Ryan Sieg

Last year’s race winner Jeb Burton will start 37th.

Mason Massey would originally miss the race via DNQ, but a post-qualifying technical issue for Garrett Smithley would DQ his No. 6 JD Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro from the race. Smithley originally posted a time fast enough for 19th on the grid. His car’s roof hatch was found not secure or sealed, so his time was disallowed.

Coverage for the ninth NASCAR Xfinity Series race of the 2024 season will air at 2 p.m. ET (FOX, MRN, SiriusXM) for the Ag-Pro 300 at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway on Saturday, April 20.

  1. Austin Hill – 52.723 sec (181.629 mph)
  2. Jesse Love – 52.871 sec (181.120 mph)
  3. Parker Kligerman – 52.996 sec (180.693 mph)
  4. Cole Custer – 53.150 sec (180.169 mph)
  5. Sammy Smith – 53.184 sec (180.054 mph)
  6. Ryan Truex – 53.217 sec (179.942 mph)
  7. Chandler Smith – 53.241 sec (179.861 mph)
  8. Riley Herbst – 53.267 sec (179.774 mph)
  9. Josh Williams – 53.328 sec (179.568 mph)
  10. Sheldon Creed – 53.567 sec (178.767 mph)
  11. Anthony Alfredo – 53.259 sec (179.801 mph)
  12. Patrick Emerling
  13. Taylor Gray(i)
  14. A.J. Allmendinger
  15. Sam Mayer
  16. Justin Allgaier
  17. Joey Gase
  18. Shane Van Gisbergen#
  19. David Starr
  20. Kyle Weatherman
  21. Parker Retzlaff
  22. Jeremy Clements
  23. Brandon Jones
  24. Ryan Sieg
  25. Kyle Sieg
  26. Blaine Perkins
  27. Brennan Poole
  28. Matt DiBenedetto
  29. Caesar Bacarella
  30. Dawson Cram
  31. Hailie Deegan
  32. Jordan Anderson
  33. Leland Honeyman
  34. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  35. Josh Bilicki
  36. Ryan Ellis
  37. Jeb Burton
  38. Mason Massey(i) – 54.433 sec (XXX mph)
  39. Garrett Smithley – DQ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *